Unipersonal body with goverment and executive competences. Acts as head of the steering committee, chairs the Governing Board and holds the institutional representation of the CSIC.  The Presidency’s appointment and dismissal is made by the Council of Ministers agreement following the proposal of the head of the Ministry of Science, Innovation and Universities.

Rosa Menéndez López

Rosa Menéndez was appointed President of the Spanish National Research Council (CSIC) by agreement of the Council of Ministers on 17th November 2017. Previously, she was Vice-President of Scientific and Technical Research between 2007 and 2008 at CSIC and, until her appointment as President, she was the institutional delegate of CSIC in Asturias, Cantabria and the Basque Country. 

​​​​​​​In 1980 she graduated from Oviedo University in Chemistry and in 1986 she obtained her PhD degree in Chemistry at the same university. Between 1987 and 1988 she was a postdoctoral fellow at the University of Newcastle upon Tyne (UK). In 1988 she began her professional career at CSIC as a Tenure Scientist and in 2000 she was appointed Research Scientist. Since 2003 she is a Full Research Professor.

From 2003 to 2008 she was Director of the National Institute of Carbon (INCAR-CSIC) in Oviedo. She has been a researcher at the School of Environmental and Mining Engineering in Nottingham (UK); at the Department of Chemical Engineering at the Imperial College in London (UK); at the Department of Chemical Engineering at the Clemson University in South Carolina (USA); at the Geology Department at the Southern Illinois University in Carbondale (USA); and at the Northern Carbon Research Laboratories in Newcastle upon Tyne (UK).

Currently she is Vice-President of Science Europe and, throughout her professional career, she has been president of the European Carbon Association (ECA); member of the Advisory Board of the multinational SASOL; President of the Spanish Carbon Group; coordinator for the Programme of Materials and Energy within the Spanish National Plan for Research, Development and Innovation; member of the Scientific Advisory Committee of the Spanish Chemistry Company of Nalon; member of the International Committee on Coal and Organic Petrology (ICCP); member of the Spanish Technical Committee for Standardisation (AENOR); member of the Governing of the Heatlh Research Institute of the Principado de Asturias (ISPA); member of the Spanish National Commission for the Evaluation of Research Activity (CNEAI) and member of the Governing Board of the Spanish State Research Agency (AEI).

She has actively participated in the design and assessment of different activities for the European Union as a member of the High-Level Group of the Governance of the European Research Area (ERA) and also as a member of the Technical and Exploitation Advisory Committee of the project DECARBit and the Committee of the Carbon and Steel Programme (RFCS). She has been president and vice-president in expert committees for the review of the non-nuclear energy programme in the 5th and 6th Framework Programmes and served as a proposals reviewer for different calls under the 5th,6th and 7th Framework Programmes.

In recent years, in addition to her scientific interest in clean tecnologies of coal and oil, she has initiated a new research line on the perspectives offered by graphene in biomedicine and energy storage, thematic in which she has worked with companies such as DROPSENS, Spanish Chemistry Company of Nalon and the Fernández-Vega Foundation.  

She has participated in more than 30 research projects, with broad industrial parcipation, 23 of them as principal investigator, nine having been funded by the European Union Framework Programmes for Research and Innovation and by the Research Fund for Coal and Steel. She has published more than 200 papers in international high impact scientific journals. She is the author of 10 patents and has directed 20 doctoral theses and 22 Master's thesis in the fields of materials, chemistry and energy.

She has been awarded with numerous distinctions such as the 19th DuPont Science Award in recognition of the work realised in the study and development of new carbon materials with significant industrial applications and the Scientific Career Award of the Spanish Materials Association, received in 2016; the XV San Alberto Magno Prize for scientific excellence, awarded by the College of Chemists of Asturias and León and the Association of Chemists of the Principado de Asturias and Prize for Chemical Excellence 2018, awarded by the General Council of Official Colleges of Chemist of Spain, both in recognition of his outstanding professional career. Other recognition is having been named Honorary Citizen of her city of birth, Cudillero, since 2019.