Women and Science Committee Organization

On 30 September 2002 the Governing Board of the Spanish National Research Council, with a favourable report from the Scientific Advisory Committee and on the proposal of its President, Rolf Tarrach, approved the creation of the Commission for Women and Science (CMYC)

Mission of the Women and Science Commission

To achieve, together with the Presidency, gender equality in research in the Spanish National Research Council (CSIC).

Objectives of the Women and Science Commission

  • To advise the Presidency of the CSIC on issues related to promoting the entry and subsequent career of women scientists in the Institution.
  • To propose to the Presidency possible actions to promote the entry and promotion of women in the CSIC, in accordance with the specific legislation on this matter.
  • To study the possible causes that could hinder both the entry and the career of women in the CSIC.
  • To analyse the existence of biases and gaps introduced historically in the development of science due to the low presence of women in scientific institutions and in their management bodies and to propose, where appropriate, measures for their correction.

Duties of the Women and Science Commission

  • To produce an Annual Report with sex-disaggregated statistics.
  • Monitoring of the results of open access and internally promoted scientific staff positions.
  • Enhancing the visibility of the Institution's female scientists.
  • Making recommendations and monitoring non-sexist language.
  • To participate together with the CSIC's Equality Commission in the preparation and monitoring of Equality Plans.
  • To participate in the inclusion of content and the gender dimension in research.
  • To participate and collaborate in the creation and achievement of the CSIC's Equality Seal.


Rosa Menéndez López

CSIC President


Francisca Puertas Maroto

Research Full Professor. Instituto de Ciencias de la Construcción Eduardo Torroja (IETCC)


Ana María López Sala

Tenured Scientist. Instituto de Economía, Geografía y Demografía (IEGD)

María Jesús Santesmases Navarro

Research Full Professor. Instituto de Filosofía (IF)

Teresa Suárez González

Tenured Scientist. Centro de Investigaciones Biológicas (CIB)

Ana María Navas Izquierdo

Research Scientist. Estación Experimental Aula Dei (EEAD)

María Ángeles del Pozo Bayón

Tenured Scientist. Instituto de Investigación en Ciencias de la Alimentación (CIAL)

Carmen Mayoral Gastón

Tenured Scientist. Instituto de Carboquímica (ICB)

Ascensión del Olmo Orozco

Tenured Scientist. Instituto de Astrofísica de Andalucía (IAA)

Soledad Faraldos Izquierdo

Tenured Scientist. Instituto de Catálisis y Petroleoquímica (ICP)


José María Calleja Rovira

CSIC Deputy Vice-President for Institutional Relations

Penélope González Sampériz

Tenured Scientist. Instituto Pirenaico de Ecología (IPE)

Felipe Criado Boado

Research Full Professor. Instituto de Ciencias del Patrimonio (INCIPIT)

Teresa Valdés-Solís Iglesias

Tenured Scientist. Instituto de Ciencia y Tecnología del Carbono (INCAR)